Saturday • July 20
CST 6:54 | EST 7:54 | MST 5:54 | PST 4:54 | GMT 11:54
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Johnny Majors
Bookmark and Share
On this episode, Elliott and David spend the hour with Johnny Majors, a former star at Tennessee who went on who went on to become a successful college coach at Iowa State, Pitt and his alma matter.

Majors played halfback at Tennessee from 1954 to '56, finishing second in Heisman Trophy voting as a senior. He went 185-137-10 as a coach at Iowa State (1968-72), Pittsburgh (1973-76, 1993-96) and Tennessee (1977-92), leading Pittsburgh to the 1976 national title. He entered the College Football Hall of Fame in 1987.
Episode Segments:
 
Sports and Torts: Johnny Majors Part One
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file... View this video file...

 
 
Sports and Torts: Johnny Majors Part Two
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file... View this video file...

 
Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Johnny Majors
Johnny Majors (born May 21, 1935) is a former American football player and coach. A standout halfback at the University of Tennessee, he was an All-American in 1956 and a two-time winner of the Southeastern Conference Most Valuable Player award, in 1955 and 1956. He finished second to Paul Hornung in voting for the Heisman Trophy in 1956. Majors served as the head football coach at Iowa State University (19681972), the University of Pittsburgh (19731976, 19931996), and Tennessee (19771992), compiling a career college football record of 18513710. His 1976 Pittsburgh squad won a national championship after capping a 120 season with a victory in the Sugar Bowl. Majors was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a player in 1987.

More About Johnny