Thursday • October 28
CST 4:45 | EST 5:45 | MST 3:45 | PST 2:45 | GMT 21:45
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Thinking About The Future
Bookmark and Share
Long Time Champaign News Gazette Columnist Loren Tate joins us to debate whether or not it is time for Ron Guenther to step aside. Plus, the Big 10 Network's Howard Griffith assesses the football program.
Episode Segments:
 
Talking Illini 11/24/09 HR 1
Loren Tate & Mr. G engage in a spirited debate about the legacy of Ron Guenther, and the direction of the football program. Then, if Zook gets shown the door, which direction should the Illini go with their next head coach.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Talking Illini 11/24/09 HR 2
The Big 10 Network’s Howard Griffith gives his take on the state of Illini Football, and what he would do if he was in charge of finding a new head coach for the Illini
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Loren Tate
Loren Tate was born November 3, 1931 in Owensboro, KY. He graduated from Monticello High School in 1949 and from the University of Illinois in 1953. He was sports editor at the Hammond (IN) Times from 1955-1966 and has been with the News Gazette since 1966, serving as their sports editor for many years. Tate was sports director at WICD-TV for 11 years, co-hosts “Saturday Sportsline” with Jim Turpin on WDWS and has served as a long time analyst and broadcaster for Illini sports. Tate is also the author of the book “A Century of Orange and Blue: Celebrating 100 Years of Fighting Illini Basketball”. Tate was inducted into the IHSA Basketball Hall of Fame and the University of Illinois’ honorary Varsity I award. Other honors include:

1988 – AP Story Editors Award for best news story for a story on Neal Stoner

1988 – News Gazette Employee of the Year

1992 – Inducted into the Hammond Sports Hall of Fame

2000 – Inducted into the Monticello High School Hall of Fame

2003 – News Gazette Publisher’s Award




 
Howard Griffith
During his playing days at the University of Illinois, Howard Griffith set an NCAA record with eight rushing touchdowns in a single game. A retired NFL fullback, he played for two seasons each with the St. Louis Rams and the Carolina Panthers before joining the Denver Broncos in 1997. Griffith was part of two Super Bowl Championship teams and was a major contributor during the Broncos' Super Bowl XXXII win. Griffith is currently a studio commentator for the Big Ten Network.