Sunday • November 23
CST 8:22 | EST 9:22 | MST 7:22 | PST 6:22 | GMT 14:22
Other Non-Flash Media Players
The New Normal
Bookmark and Share
What is the new normal in the US Economy? Slower growth, higher unemployment and more government regulation. We'll hear from the man who predicted this. Then, we look at the far reach of Greece’s economic woes,, as people ask if their own country has gone too far. Plus, A look at the fastest growing segment of investing: quantitative investing.
Episode Segments:
 
Defining the New Normal
Its one year ago this week the Mohamed El-Erian, the Co-Chief Investment Officer of PIMCO, the world’s largest bond fund, labeled this economy as the “new normal.” In this interview he explains that after the leverage driven economy of the last decade, he anticipated a new normal economy of: slower growth, higher unemployment and more government regulation. I’d say he got it just right, as we are now facing just such an economy. We also bring you this week’s recap of the markets, which saw mostly price declines.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Governments & the Economy
Greece, it seems to be the focus of investors around the world. In this segment we look at the far reach of this tiny country, as people ask if their own country has gone too far. We also explore the increasing role of governments in the economy, and whether their role is predictable and helpful.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Understanding Quant Funds
A look at the fastest growing segment of investing: quantitative investing. That’s those computer driven number crunchers who are gaining popularity. Three of the largest hedge funds are all “quant” funds. We also let you know how individual investors can now invest in quant funds designed just for them. We also look ahead at the economic numbers coming out next week.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...