Monday • December 18
CST 4:12 | EST 5:12 | MST 3:12 | PST 2:12 | GMT 22:12
Other Non-Flash Media Players
First Responders Need Help, Too!
Bookmark and Share
Suicide is the #1 cause of death for police every year—nearly 200 deaths. Suicide is also a significant problem for all emergency first responders—police, fire, paramedics, military, and trauma workers. Additionally, 20% of all first responders will have at least one life altering addiciton.

Our guest is Captain (Ret.) Dan Willis, a police officer with 26 years of experience and a leader of Emotional Survival and Wellness Training for first responders and those who love them. His book is Bulletproof Spirit: The First Responder’s Essential Resource for Protecting and Healing Mind and Heart has won numerous awards, and details practical steps that are not only effective but essential to protect and insure the wellness of those who serve.
Episode Segments:
 
Don't Box Me In: Dan Willis
Captain Willis spent 25 years as a police officer in La Mesa, CA. He and his colleagues suffered along with their victims, witnessed senseless violence, and gradually slipped into the hole of misery and defeatism. Willis wrote his book to help first responders maintain emotional, mental, physical, and spiritual fitness in order to take care of themselves, their loved ones, and the people they serve. H
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Dan Willis
La Mesa Police Captain (Ret.) Dan Willis is a former homicide investigator and SWAT commander who has developed wellness programs and specializes in providing emotional survival and wellness training to first responders throughout the country. He is a graduate of San Diego State University and the FBI National Academy. He lives in San Diego, CA.

First Responder Wellness.com