Tuesday • November 21
CST 3:44 | EST 4:44 | MST 2:44 | PST 1:44 | GMT 09:44
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Growing Up Nobody
Bookmark and Share
Tim "Timo" Olson grew up in a home with dysfunction and was bullied in school. He didn't feel like I had a safe and loving place to go. His dad suffered from mental illness. His parents divorced and his mom left him alone alone to take care of his dad when he was just seventeen. Three years later his mom died and he was left to take care of both his sister and his dad. He lost his father a few years later. In his book Growing Up Nobody, he talks about his experiences during those years including wanting to commit suicide. he opens up about his anger towards the world and everyone near him. In finding Christ, he found out how to forgive others and himself.
Episode Segments:
 
Don't Box Me In: Tim Timo Olson
From being bullied in school, considering suicide, having a volatile relationship with his father who suffered from mental illness, a divorce and the death of both his parents by the age of 24 Timo just tried to get through each day. Not once did any of those situations draw him closer to Christ. In fact usually had the opposite effect. What did bring him to his savior was the simple gesture of someone who asked a simple question. "Would you like us to pray for you?"
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Tim Olson
Tim Olson received the nickname "Timo" from a eight grade teacher as a way to differentiate between him and another Tim in his class. After turning away from the church he grew up in he spent a good portion of his life just living. Timo's life had been filled with trials and tragedy. From being bullied in school, considering suicide, having a volatile relationship with his father who suffered from mental illness, a divorce and the death of both his parents by the age of 24 Timo just tried to get through each day. Not once did any of those situations draw him closer to Christ. In fact usually had the opposite effect. What did bring him to his savior was the simple gesture of someone who asked a simple question. "Would you like us to pray for you?" Those simple 8 words started Timo's journey. Timo accepted Jesus as his personal savior in 2008 and was baptized a few years later.

Since then Timo has spent his time learning the words of Christ, helped developed a men's ministry at his church, serves in his community and inspires others with his podcast and his story which is available in his book "Growing Up Nobody"

Those who know Timo have been moved by his story an by his love of God and desire to live life as a servant.


Timo\'s Website