Wednesday • October 22
CST 8:45 | EST 9:45 | MST 7:45 | PST 6:45 | GMT 13:45
Other Non-Flash Media Players
Effects of Obesity: The Biggest Loser
Bookmark and Share
Episode Segments:
 
The WOW Prescription
Dr. Rob Huizenga tells Deb & Robin all about how he got involved with The Biggest Losers, and how it was actually castoffs from the show that inspired him to write his new book. He also talks about why using BMI is a bad idea, and why you shouldnt pay attention to the scale when youre lifting weights to shed fat.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Reaction to Dr. Rob
Deborah and Robin comment on some of the points Dr. Rob brought up in his interview & in his book, and talk about why they think The Biggest Loser gets it right, when it comes to weight loss.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
 
Eating Like an Olympian
Deb and Robin examine Michael Phelps 12,000 calorie-a-day diet, and think he may be sending out the wrong message; it may help him get it done in the pool now, but he could be facing some serious problems down the road.
Listen to this MP3 file... Download this MP3 file...

 
Links to Related Websites:
Order Where Did All The Fat Go? At Amazon.com
FROM THE DOCTOR BEHIND THE HIT NBC TV SHOW THE BIGGEST LOSER, Where Did All the Fat Go? The WOW! Prescription to Reach Your Ideal Weight - and Stay There! is filled with nutrition and exercise facts -- including menus, recipes, illustrated instructions for new exercises, and fact-based inspiration from Dr. Huizenga - to help readers lose fat, not muscle, as they achieve their weight goal (WOW! weight).

Guest(s) Appearing on this Episode
Dr. Rob Huizenga
Team doctor for the Los Angeles Raiders football team from 1983 to 1990, Dr. Huizenga chronicled his experiences in the book, You’re OK, It’s Just a Bruise—A Doctor’s Sideline Secrets about Pro-Football’s Most Outrageous Team. During its release in 1994, the controversial book sparked a national debate about steroid use and ergogenic aid in professional sports. The book ultimately served as the inspiration for the Oliver Stone film, Any Given Sunday. A graduate of Harvard Medical School, Dr. Huizenga has been Chief Resident at Cedars Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles and is currently Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine at UCLA. He is also in private practice in Beverly Hills, California. He has appeared as a health expert on many network news and interview shows and has testified as a medical expert in a number of high-profile trials. In addition to The Biggest Loser, his television and movie consulting credits include Extreme Makeover, WorkOut, Student Body and Into the Wild.